RM Theory and Practice Vol 14 [2018]


Resource Management Theory & Practice Vol 14 [2018]

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Essential Membership, Young RMLA Membership, Student Membership or Essential Membership, or log in if you are a member.


The Resource Management Theory & Practice Vol 14 [2018] is a blind-refereed journal published annually by Thomson Reuters for the Resource Management Law Association of New Zealand Inc (RMLA).  The aim of Resource Management Theory & Practice is to provide a vehicle for in-depth analysis of resource management issues relevant to the New Zealand and Australian scene.

This edition contains:

The Salmon Lecture 2017 by Rod Oram “Reinventing paradise: From rules to reason; from economy to ecosystem

An in-depth article by our 2016 Scholarship Winner, Maia Wikaira “Provision for iwi development access in the reform”

A paper given to the RMLA 2017 Conference by Distinguished Professor Dame Anne Salmond “Rivers as Ancestors and other Realities: Governance of Waterways in Aotearoa, New Zealand”

The Tony Hearn QC Memorial Lecture 2018 by Judge J R Jackson “Responding to Climate Change under the Resource Management Act”

Plus more…

This volume of the journal may be cited as [2018] RM Theory & Practice.

Editor in Chief:
Professor Jacinta Ruru

Editorial Board:
Dr Ben France-Hudson
Associate Professor Caroline Miller
Paul Radich QC
Pip Wallace
Rachel Devine
Kim Hardy

Founding Editor:
Trevor Daya-Winterbottom

International Advisory Panel:
• Professor Jamie Benedickson, University of Ottawa, Canada;
• Emeritus Professor Ben Boer, University of Sydney, Australia;
• Dr Simone Borg, University of Malta;
• Professor An Cliquet, University of Ghent, Belgium;
• Professor Willemien du Plessis, North West University, South Africa;
• Adjunct Professor Rob Fowler, University of South Australia;
• Professor Alexander Gillespie, University of Waikato, New Zealand;
• Professor Lee Godden, University of Melbourne, Australia;
• Emeritus Professor Malcolm Grant, University College London, UK;
• Associate Professor Irene Lye Lin Heng, National University  of Singapore;
• Professor David Hodas, Widener University, Maryland, USA;
• Professor Michael Kidd, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South  Africa;
• Professor Timo Koivurova, University of Lapland, Finland;
• Professor Louis Kotze, North West University, South Africa;
• Professor Yves Le Bouthillier, University of Ottawa, Canada;
• Associate Professor Nicola Lugaresi, University of Trento, Italy;
• Professor Richard Macrory, University College London, UK;
• Professor Frank Maes, University of Ghent, Belgium;
• Dr Jose Juan Gonzales Marquez, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico;
• Professor Albert Mumma, University of Nairobi;
• Professor Nilufer Oral, Instanbul Bilgi University, Turkey;
• Professor Melissa Powers, Lewis & Clark Law School, Oregon, USA;
• Professor Benjamin Richardson, University of Tasmania, Australia;
• Associate Professor Svitlana Romanko, Prykarpatsky National University, Ukraine;
• Associate Professor Christina Voigt, University of Oslo, Norway