RM Theory and Practice Vol 12 (2016)


Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Essential Membership, Young RMLA Membership, Student Membership or Essential Membership, or log in if you are a member.


The aim of Resource Management Theory & Practice is to provide a vehicle for in-depth analysis of resource management issues relevant to the New Zealand and Australian scene.

Resource Management Theory & Practice Vol 12 (2016) contains:


Editorial  – Professor Jacinta Ruru FRSNZ

RMLA Salmon Lecture 2015: The place of science in environmental policy and law – Professor Sir Peter Gluckman ONZ KNZM FRSNZ FMedSci FRS

“Mātauranga Māori” knowledge, comprehension and understanding: Reflection of lessons learnt and contemplation of the future – Hon Justice Christian Whata

The coastal landscape: All at sea? – Quentin Davies, Amanda Hills and Savannah Carter

The Kermadec/Rangitāhua Ocean Sanctuary: Expropriation-free but a breach of good faith – Dr Ben France-Hudson

The public trust doctrine: An analysis of the original theory and its historical foundations – Nicola Hulley

Energy efficiency in the road transport sector: Are we running on empty? – Rachael Witney

Book Review – Dr Yuan Lu and Professor Jacinta Ruru

Editor in Chief:
Professor Jacinta Ruru

Editorial Board:
Professor Bruce Clarkson
Maree Baker-Galloway
Dr Ben France-Hudson
Wayne Gumley
Associate Professor Caroline Miller
Dr Royden Somerville QC

Founding Editor:
Trevor Daya-Winterbottom

International Advisory Panel:
• Professor Jamie Benedickson, University of Ottawa, Canada;
• Emeritus Professor Ben Boer, University of Sydney, Australia;
• Dr Simone Borg, University of Malta;
• Professor An Cliquet, University of Ghent, Belgium;
• Professor Willemien du Plessis, North West University, South Africa;
• Adjunct Professor Rob Fowler, University of South Australia;
• Professor Alexander Gillespie, University of Waikato, New Zealand;
• Professor Lee Godden, University of Melbourne, Australia;
• Emeritus Professor Malcolm Grant, University College London, UK;
• Associate Professor Irene Lye Lin Heng, National University  of Singapore;
• Professor David Hodas, Widener University, Maryland, USA;
• Professor Michael Kidd, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South  Africa;
• Professor Timo Koivurova, University of Lapland, Finland;
• Professor Louis Kotze, North West University, South Africa;
• Professor Yves Le Bouthillier, University of Ottawa, Canada;
• Associate Professor Nicola Lugaresi, University of Trento, Italy;
• Professor Richard Macrory, University College London, UK;
• Professor Frank Maes, University of Ghent, Belgium;
• Dr Jose Juan Gonzales Marquez, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico;
• Professor Albert Mumma, University of Nairobi;
• Professor Nilufer Oral, Instanbul Bilgi University, Turkey;
• Professor Melissa Powers, Lewis & Clark Law School, Oregon, USA;
• Professor Benjamin Richardson, University of Tasmania, Australia;
• Associate Professor Svitlana Romanko, Prykarpatsky National University, Ukraine;
• Associate Professor Christina Voigt, University of Oslo, Norway