RMLA Awards 2021 Announced!


It is with great pleasure that RMLA announces its award winners for 2021 as follows:


Principal Judge R J Bollard Lifetime Commemorative Award 2021

Judge Laurie Newhook

For his outstanding lifetime services and contribution to the advancement of resource management and environmental law in New Zealand and securing the place of the Environment Court within the New Zealand judicial system


Outstanding Person Award 2021

Associate Professor Caroline Miller

For her outstanding contribution to the law, theory and practice of resource management


Technical Documentation Award 2021

Boffa Miskell and Auckland Council

Ecological Connectivity Strategies

For the significant contribution of the Strategies to the practice of resource management and for innovation and excellence in its technical approach


Publication Award 2021

Dr Deidre Koolen-Bourke and Raewyn Peart

Conserving Nature: Conservation Reform Issues Paper

For a significant contribution to the advancement and understanding of current conservation issues in New Zealand for consideration and application across a wide range of professions


Project Award 2021

Watercare, Te Taniwha oo Waikato and Beca

Waikato R2R

For its collaborative approach and significant contribution to the advancement of best practice and implementation of the RMA


Regional Award 2021

Melissa McGrath and Robert Burgoyne, Whangarei District Council and their team

For their work on the Urban & Services Plan Changes to the Whangarei District Plan over a significant period on a matter of critical importance to the region