New Ministerial Committee established to progress Hauraki Gulf marine plan

A new Ministerial Advisory Committee has been appointed to help shape the Government’s response to the conservation and fisheries-related proposals in the Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Hauraki Gulf Marine Spatial Plan.

“The Hauraki Gulf/Tikapa Moana is rightly recognised as a national taonga or treasure. The Sea Change – Tai Timu Ta Pari Marine Spatial Plan, an aspirational document released in late 2016, outlined a suite of proposals aimed at restoring the health of the Hauraki Gulf,” says Conservation Minister, Eugenie Sage.

“I’d like to thank the many people who worked tirelessly from all across the community to develop these proposals for the Hauraki Gulf. Our task now is to assess these proposals and consider the actions we take to achieve the aspirations of the Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Marine Spatial Plan.”

“Over the next 12 months the Ministerial Advisory Committee will provide DOC and Fisheries NZ with a vital sounding board, and independent, solutions-focused expert advice as the central government response to Sea Change is developed,” says Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash.”

A list of the Ministerial Advisory Committee members is as follows:

Catherine Harland (Co-Chair), Paul Majurey (Mana Whenua Co-Chair), Volker Kuntzsch, Dr Jeremy Helson, Raewyn Peart, Dr John Montgomery, Tame Te Rangi, Dr Valmaine Toki, Liane Ngamane.

Click for more information on the Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari Hauraki Gulf Marine Spatial Plan