Members of Interim Climate Change Committee named

The Interim Climate Change Committee is set to begin work on how New Zealand transitions to a net zero emissions economy by 2050.

The Committee is Chaired by Dr David Prentice, who was most recently the CEO and Managing Director of infrastructure firm WSP Opus International Consultants.

He is joined by Deputy Chair, Lisa Tumahai, who has significant governance experience and is Kaiwhakahaere of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu.

The other committee members are:

  • Dr Harry Clark, a New Zealand expert on agricultural greenhouse gas research
  • Dr Keith Turner, former CEO of Meridian and professional director
  • Dr Jan Wright, former Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment
  • Dr Suzi Kerr, an internationally renowned expert in the economics of climate change policy and emissions trading.

The Interim Climate Change Committee will remain together until the independent Climate Change Commission under the Zero Carbon Act is formed in May next year.

The interim committee will look at how agriculture might enter into the New Zealand Emissions Trading Scheme (NZETS) and begin planning for the transition to 100 percent renewable electricity generation by 2035.

Read more about the Interim Climate Change Committee