2017 RMLA 25th Anniversary Annual Awards winners announced

Beca, Southern Skies, Auckland Council, Sea Change, and Waikato Regional Council stole the limelight at this year’s RMLA Annual Awards, while Hon Peter Salmon QC and Adam Wild were honoured with RMLA’s Lifetime Commemorative Award and Outstanding Person Award, respectively.

The Awards took place on the closing night of RMLA’s Annual Conference, themed #Liveable, on Saturday September 23. With a stellar line-up of renowned international and national speakers, this year’s RMLA Annual Conference attracted over 700 delegates.

RMLA Publication Award 2017


Beca, Southern Skies and Auckland Council won the RMLA Publication Award for articulating the best current knowledge and practice in erosion and sediment control.

RMLA Documentation Award 2017


RMLA’s Documentation Award 2017 was awarded to Sea Change Tai Timu Tai Pari Hauraki Gulf Marine Spatial Plan for its excellence in executing a collaborative process and producing an innovative plan to protect a nationally significant taonga.

RMLA Project Award 2017


Waikato Regional Council was awarded RMLA’s Project Award 2017 for its forward-looking approach to resolving freshwater quality and allocation issues.

Principal Judge R J Bollard Lifetime Commemorative Award


The Hon Peter Salmon CNZM QC, one of RMLA’s founders and its inaugural President, was awarded RMLA’s Principal Judge R J Bollard Lifetime Commemorative Award 2017 for dedicating a lifetime of leadership to the resource management profession.

 RMLA Outstanding Person Award 2017


The Resource Management Law Association’s Outstanding Person Award 2017 went to Adam Wild for making an outstanding contribution to the field of heritage and conservation architecture, both in New Zealand and internationally.

RMLA congratulates this year’s RMLA Annual Award winners for their noteworthy contribution to best practice in the field of Resource Management.

About RMLA’s Annual Awards:

The Resource Management Law Association makes annual awards in the field of resource management.

The focus of the awards is to:

  • Award excellence in resource management documents including National Standards, Policy Statements, section 32 analyses, District or Regional plans or other such documents, prepared by or on behalf of government or local authorities in fulfilment of their duties under the Resource Management Act 1991 or other significant documentary contributions such as books and journals;
  • Recognise outstanding contributions by individuals; and
  • Award projects that have made a significant contribution to the development of best practice and the implementation of the RMA’s purpose and principles.

For more information about the RMLA’s Annual Awards, please click here.