U. Otago Masters students clinch prestigious RMLA scholarship

Three outstanding University of Otago Masters students have been awarded the Resource Management Law Association’s (RMLA) coveted postgraduate scholarship.

Hannah Parker-Hayne, Nathaniel Harris and Mandy Tocher, all of whom are reading a Masters of Planning at Otago University, are the proud recipients of this year’s RMLA scholarship.

True to RMLA’s ethos of fostering an understanding of resource management law and its implementation in a multidisciplinary framework, the RMLA scholarship not only provides financial support for the applicants’ research thesis; it also provides a powerful platform for their career advancement.

Hannah, Nathaniel and Mandy will see their work published, either in the RMLA’s highly respected Resource Management Theory & Practice annual publication; or in RMLA’s widely-read digital Resource Management Journal.

Bundled into the scholarship package is a one-year RMLA membership, providing unrestricted access to RMLA’s publications, news and discounted entry to all RMLA events. This provides our scholarship winners with invaluable learning as well as networking opportunities with RMLA’s diverse, broadbased membership. 

The RMLA extends its warmest congratulations to Hannah, Nathaniel and Mandy and wishes them every success in their postgraduate studies.


About the RMLA Postgraduate Scholarship

The RMLA launched its postgraduate scholarship scheme in 1996, with the objective of encouraging postgraduate research into the application of resource management in New Zealand. 

The scholarship is open to any graduate student in a University (New Zealand or Overseas) registered for a Masters (including an undergraduate Honours degree involving advanced levels of research and study at Masters degree level).

For more information on how to apply for future scholarships, please click here.