RMLA Awards Report 2015 : Citations

The RMLA was delighted to acknowledge five publications, documents and projects in our annual awards ceremony this year in Tauranga.  It is fantastic to be able to recognize excellence right across the spectrum of planning, law, environmental science, engineering and other disciplines who all make such a significant contribution to the field of resource management.  The standard of entries was particularly high this year and the National Committee thanks everyone for the huge amount of effort that clearly went into preparing award submissions.  The 2015 winners are: 

Documentation Award 

Awarded to: New Zealand Chapter of Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand Inc. 

For: Ecological Impact Assessment Guidelines 

For Ecological Impact Assessment Guidelines which will provide practical assistance to experts and lift standards in this area. 

Dr Ian Boothroyd accepting the Documentation Award on behalf of the NZ Chapter of EIANZ

Publication Award 

Awarded to: Ceri Warnock and Maree Baker-Galloway

For: “Focus on Resource Management Law”

For an innovative approach to presenting the law in an easily accessible manner.  The judges were particularly impressed with this publication for its clarity and simplicity, and while it is aimed at new professionals, the we considered it a highly worthwhile publication for those from the whole range of backgrounds and experience.

Maree Baker-Galloway accepting the Publication Award on behalf of herself and Ceri Warnock

Highly Commended Publication Awarded to: Catherine Iorns and Greg Severinsen

For: “Diving in the Deep End: Precaution and Seabed Mining in New Zealand’s EEZ”

For a highly readable and topical examination of this new area of practice and legislation.  By using examples and clearly structured writing, the judges considered this paper enhanced understanding and will be particularly useful for those new to the topics covered.

Greg Severinsen accepting the Highly Commended Publication Award

Project Award 

Awarded to: The NZ Transport Agency and Bloxam Burnett & Olliver

For: The Huntly Section of the Waikato Expressway

For strong stakeholder collaboration and innovation in delivering the Huntly Section of the Waikato Expressway.  This project was particularly unique in that it started from a position of significant opposition from a range of stakeholders. The extent of stakeholder engagement and collaboration through the consultation processes resulted in a high degree of involvement and consensus from all parties. 

Steve Bigwood and Mercedes Santos receiving the Project Award

Highly Commended Project Awarded to:

Hastings District Council, Rau Kirikiri, Ipurangi Developments Ltd, Environmental Management Services Ltd, GHD Ltd and Asher Davidson Barrister

For: The Hastings District Council’s Whakatu Arterial Link

The project is Highly Commended for innovative designation practice through community-led decision making.  The judges were impressed by the approach of this project team too of starting by asking the community what they wanted.

Asher Davidson and Stephen Daysh accepting the Highly Commended Project Award