President’s Report – October 2012

Dear Members

It has been my privilege to represent the Association as your President over the past year and I am humbled to have the opportunity to serve in this office for another year.  Following the AGM in Queenstown, the National Committee met and also re-elected Martin Williams and Kate Barry-Piceno unopposed to the Executive positions of Secretary and Treasurer respectively.  This reflects the high level of confidence shown by the National Committee for their past work in these critical roles.

At this stage I would particularly like to acknowledge the contributions of departing National Committee members Bal Matheson and Philip Maw.  Bal who has had a long involvement with the running of the Association, firstly as the Auckland Branch Chair and latterly on the National Committee in a number of roles, has decided to stand down this year.  Also leaving the National Committee this year is Philip Maw who has also had a long involvement with the Association as Events Manager and Treasurer of the Canterbury Branch since 2005 and latterly involved in the Legislation, Memberships and Scholarships portfolios of the National Committee. 

It is also appropriate to welcome two new members to the National Committee; Rachel Devine, and James Gardner-Hopkins who both have strong records of service to the Association as respective past chairs of the Auckland and Wellington Branches.  Thanks to both for stepping up to this new role this year.

The current year is shaping up to be a particularly exciting and challenging one with increasing demands on our country’s natural resources, our adjustment to international economic trends and national responses in the form of legislative, policy and structural changes.  More than ever it is at times like these that our Association’s objectives assume increased importance.  We have a strong talented team on the National Committee this year and with your involvement at branch events, and contributors as part of the Special Interest Groups, we are well positioned to make a meaningful contribution to evolving resource management systems and practice.

I would particularly like to thank Jan Caunter and Jayne MacDonald from the Queenstown Branch and the work of their team for hosting this year’s Annual Conference.  Thanks also to Terri Growcott and her team from Conference Innovators for the time and effort they put in each year to ensure our conferences run smoothly. 

The incoming National Committee are looking forward to working with the Taranaki Conference committee on suggestions for next year’s conference to ensure relevance to members and to maintain a high standard as the “must attend” conference for resource management practitioners.  A notice seeking your contributions and ideas for speakers and presentations in line with the conference theme can be found in this month’s newsletter.

On that note, the National Committee held its first meeting last week.  One of the key actions was the allocation of portfolios.  Martin Williams and Kate Barry-Piceno, in addition to their respective Executive functions and with Andrea Rickard, will provide the National Committee’s liaison with the Taranaki conference team. 

Awards will continue to be the responsibility of Andrea Rickard assisted by James Gardner-Hopkins, with Kate Barry-Piceno, depending on the work load involved.  Courts will continue to be the joint responsibility of Simon Berry and Martin Williams.  International relations / ELRANZ will be overseen by Simon Berry. 

James Gardner-Hopkins, together with Maree Baker-Galloway, Rachel Devine and Phil Gurnsey will have responsibility for the Legislation and Special Interest Groups.  This is likely to be a very busy work area in the coming year with the government’s reform package moving into the law drafting stage.

Phil Gurnsey has a number of roles, that of representing the Association as a member of the QP Website’s Management Board and continuing with the Roadshow portfolio.  In this he is assisted by Maree Baker-Galloway.  Phil also keeps the committee updated on Wellington matters.  Ian Fraser will be working on the Membership / Recruitment and with Kate Barry-Piceno on the Scholarships / Fellowship portfolios.

The Association’s branch structure is one of our key strengths and through which we can provide value to members particularly through the roadshow series and other networking opportunities.  It is my intention to support regional branches and their programmes to engage members in the Association’s activities by picking up the responsibility for the Regional Development and Co-operation portfolio.  In this I will be assisted by Ian Fraser and Rachel Devine.

As mentioned our Annual Conference for 2013 will be held in New Plymouth on 26–28 September 2013 and substantial work is already underway by the Taranaki Branch organising committee.  Please put these dates aside in your diaries.